Showing posts with label Commercial Signage. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Commercial Signage. Show all posts

Tuesday, 16 July 2024

EHL224. Commercial Signage '‘WINES AND SPIRITS, BEER AND CYDER.' 1926-1930. 52 Susan’s Road on the corner with Longstone Road. what3words location: zone.things.papers & play.bank.gross


Mosaic tiles spelling out the words ‘WINES AND SPIRITS, BEER AND CYDER’ in the pavement at what would have been either side of the corner entrance to the original shop (currently the 'Susans Road Premier Store').

Historic Context: -

Information from Kelly’s Directories as dated up to 1965: -
1926: 52 Susan’s Road, Bryant Hugh, Insurance Agent.  52a & 52b Hoile George J, Wholesale Tobacco.  
54 Susan’s Road, Hoile Geo. J, Wine & Spirit Mer.
1930: 52 Susan’s Road, Salter Benjamin, Beer, Wine & Spirit merchant, & off licence.
1935: 52 Susan’s Road, Salter Benj, Wine & Spirit merchant.
1940: 52 Susan’s Road, Hodgson J. N., Wine & Spirit merchant.
1948-49: 52 & 54 Susan’s Road, Central Wine Store, Lieut R. W. L. Stock R.N.V.R. (retired).
1965: 52 Susan’s Road, Central Wine Stores (Eastbourne) Ltd. Wine & spirit mers (Mr & Mrs Jordan). 
No 54: Central Hairdressing Saloon (Mr Jack Norley).

1970: Chris Erridge took over the hairdressers at No 54, and was soon joined by his friend Barry.
1990: Chris & Barry’s hairdressers moved out of No 54 to No 73 over the road, and the Central Wine Stores expanded from No 52 into their vacant shop to become the ‘Susans Road Premier Store’, which still operates today.
2020: Chris & Barry’s hairdressers closes due to the impact of the Covid pandemic.

From the above it shows that 52 Susan’s Road became an off licence between 1926 and 1930 when presumably the mosaic was laid down.  It appears that George Hoile had moved his Wine & Spirit business from No 54 to combine it with his tobacco business at No 52.  By 1930 the business had been taken over by Benjamin Salter.  The business expanded back into No 54 around 1948-49, but at some point before 1965 operated out of No 52 only. 

References: -
Kelly’s Eastbourne Directories as dated above.
1970 onwards information from Chris Erridge.

EHL219. Commercial Signage 'Townsend' c1920's? Currently: Cavendish Bakery, 73 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne. what3words location: waddled.alien.star

 


Mosaic tiles spelling out the word ‘Townsend.'  The corner of Tideswell Road & Cavendish Place in the pavement at what would have been the corner entrance to the original shop.

Historic Context:  There is a photograph of the bomb-damaged ‘Townsend Confectioner’ shop in 1940 in the book ‘Eastbourne A History’ by John Surtees on page 101.  On page 104 it states ‘There was so much damage around Bourne Street that it was known as ‘Bomb Alley’, or ‘Hell Fire Corner’. 

By 1965 the Kelly’s Directory of Eastbourne, Hailsham and Neighbourhood showed that 73 Cavendish Place was now ‘Barnes F. T. baker’.

From Kevin Gordon: Charlotte Townsend owned the property and she was trading as a baker from the 1880’s. Her son took over the business just before the WW1 and by the WW2 had other shops in Crown Street and the Willingdon Triangle. They clearly moved out to these other shops when their main shop in Cavendish Place was bombed.   

References: -
‘Eastbourne A History’ by John Surtees.
Kelly’s Eastbourne Directory 1965.


EHL71. J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London. c1890. Location: Granville Road near the junction with Carlisle Road, Eastbourne. what3words: haven.turns.reap

J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London.   Condition: Good. Repainted by Bob Cookson. The Eastbourne Local History Society Newsletter No...