From the
National Archive (Ref: amsmm/AMS6757) ‘Clifton House School was first established in
Chalgrove, Oxfordshire in 1836, probably by Jesse Crake, a Calvinistic Baptist,
and moved to Courtiers in Clifton Hampden, also in Oxfordshire. It is described
as a commercial school in the 1851 census, which gives Jesse's age as 41, (born
in Kingston, Oxfordshire). Clifton House
School moved to Montague House, South Terrace, in Eastbourne in 1869, after a
severe outbreak of fever which necessitated a move to a healthier location. Most of the Eastbourne premises, which were in
Seaside Road/South Street, were freehold, although part was held under a
99-year lease of 29 September 1868 granted by Carew Davies Gilbert. In the 1871
census the headmaster was Jesse's son Ebenezer, then known as Edward Ebenezer (aged
28). A prospectus, 1877-1878 (AMS
6757/1/2/1) refers to new buildings comprising a dining hall, school room,
sanatorium, dormitories and lavatory; a gymnasium was built in 1878 (AMS
6757/1/1/3 p208). Edward Ebenezer Crake
became a deacon in 1878 and was ordained as a priest in 1879. In 1887 he became rector of Jevington and
sold the school and grounds in the following year. A school of the same name continued in
existence, but was located at Clifton House, 1 Upper Avenue and was first run
by James Winder. It is recorded that he wrote to Carew Davies Gilbert in 1896
requesting a reduction in the price of the freehold. The school was later called Roborough School [presumably
in 1904 as per the inscription on the stone]. Edward Ebenezer Crake died in
1915.’
