Showing posts with label Boundary Stones. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Boundary Stones. Show all posts

Monday, 2 September 2024

Boundary Stone 'CHH' Charles Hugh Haine c1880. 19 South Street, Eastbourne. what3words location: backed.dirt.faced

 


White marble boundary stone.

Pictures and information from survey conducted 30/08/24 by Kim Adams.

CHH stands for Charles Hugh Haine who took over the company from his father, John Haine, who had founded it in 1838. As well as being a prominent local businessman, C H Haine was elected as one of Eastbourne's first Borough Councillors in 1883 and was also a leading Freemason. He ran the company from the 1880s into the early 20th century before handing over to his son, C S Haine. C H Haine died in 1916 aged 69.


Boundary Stone 'CHH' Charles Hugh Haine c1880. 19 South Street, Eastbourne. what3words location: deputy.plug.cross

 



White marble boundary stone.

Pictures and information from survey conducted 30/08/24 by Kim Adams.

CHH stands for Charles Hugh Haine who took over the company from his father, John Haine, who had founded it in 1838. As well as being a prominent local businessman, C H Haine was elected as one of Eastbourne's first Borough Councillors in 1883 and was also a leading Freemason. He ran the company from the 1880s into the early 20th century before handing over to his son, C S Haine. C H Haine died in 1916 aged 69.


Tuesday, 16 July 2024

EHL239. Boundary Stones 'EADC' (Eastbourne Artisans Dwelling Company). c1876-1899. Corner of Firle Road and Hoad Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: delays.smiled.ourselves

 


Two small white marble paving stones engraved with the letters ‘EADC’ inserted into the edge of a remaining section of original Victorian red brick paving. 

The map of 1876 shows the furthest extent of housing development from Seaside into Chapel Drove (later renamed Firle Road) at that time.  The map shows six houses from the archway in this terrace towards what would later be Hoad Road, but the 1899 map shows just five, as does the more detailed map of 1910, which also shows a small section of land after the fifth house.  Therefore, I assume that the sixth house shown on the 1876 map may have been demolished leaving just a small section of land when the houses in Hoad Road were constructed between 1876 and 1899, and this is where the boundary markers were placed.

The building of Artisans Dwellings had its origins in a series of Parliamentary Acts starting in 1851, some of which are listed below.
Common Lodging Houses Act 1851 gave Boroughs and Vestries the power to supervise public health regarding 'common lodging houses' for the poor and migratory people.
Labouring Classes Lodging Houses Act 1851 gave Boroughs and Vestries the power to raise funds via local rates or Public Works Loan Commissioners to build lodging houses for unmarried working (as opposed to unemployed) people.
The Artisans and Labourers Dwellings Improvement Act 1875 allowed local councils to buy up areas of slum dwellings in order to clear and then rebuild them.
The Housing of the Working Classes Act 1885: In November 1883 the Conservative leader Lord Salisbury wrote a 16-page article titled ‘LABOURERS AND ARTISANS DWELLINGS’ in which he argued that the poor conditions of over-crowded working-class housing were injurious to morality and health.  On March 4th 1884 a Royal Commission was set-up.  It met twice a week in spring and summer of 1884; heard from witnesses, asked 18,000 questions, toured the slums, and interviewed doctors, policemen, Poor Law Board officials, clergymen, government officials and vestry sanitary committee chairmen.  Its report was published in 1885.
Richard Cross, the Home Secretary, introduced the Bill into the House of Commons on July 24th 1885 and Lord Salisbury did the same in the House of Lords. The Act allowed county districts to get loans from HM Treasury on the security of the rates. The Local Government Board was granted the power to force local authorities to shut down unhealthy houses, making landlords personally liable for their tenants’ health, and the Act also made it illegal for landlords to let property which was below elementary sanitary standards.
Housing of the Working Classes Act 1890: The previous 1885 Act was not a housing act. It empowered local authorities to condemn slum housing, but could not purchase the land and finance new housing. The 1890 Act gave urban authorities the legal power to buy land and to construct tenements and housing estates.
Housing of the Working Classes Act 1900: This Act was an extension to the 1890 Act and
gave local authorities the legal power to buy land through compulsory purchase to construct tenements and housing estates. 


EHL222. Boundary Stone 'SHW' c1925. Currently: NISA store, 84 Firle Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: erupt.fairway.loudness


A small white marble paving stone with the letters ‘S. H.’ inlaid into the marble in lead.  The third letter is missing.  In the pavement at the corner entrance to the shop. 

Information from Kelly’s (or Gowland’s) Directories as dated: -
1965: Carey’s Newsagents, tobacconists, confectioners, toys &c Tel Eastbourne 3897.
1948-49: Carey Arthur, Tobacconist.
1940: Carey Arthur, Tobacconist.
1935: Carey Arthur, Tobacconist.
1930: Waters Sidney H, Tobacconist.
1926: Waters Sidney H, Tobacconist.
1925: (Gowland’s) Sidney Waters (H).
1924: (Gowland’s) Lobb T. J., Tobacconist.

From the above we can see that the marble paving stone dates from 1925, and the missing letter is ‘W’.

References: -
Kelly’s & Gowland’s Eastbourne Directories as dated above.

1939 WW2 Register: 1 Vicarage Road, Eastbourne.
Sidney H. Waters, born 28th March 1895, Confection dealer, Newsagent, Tobacconist, Stationer.
Gwendoline B. Waters, born 22nd November, 1900, Shop assistant & home duties.

1960: Sidney Hubert Waters of 113 Ashford Road, Eastbourne, died 18 October 1960 at 123 Church Street, Eastbourne.  Administration at Lewes 28 November to Gwendoline Beatrice Waters, widow.  Effects £2205 7s 6d.


EHL261. Boundary Stone ‘EP 1877’ (Edward Pike 1877). Currently: Sisters Cafe, Seaside, Eastbourne. what3words location: dunk.fishery.frocks


In the pavement at the corner of Seaside and Myrtle Road.  I deliberately left the mud on the stone after removing the grass to photograph it otherwise the letters and date would not be visible as they are so worn.  Note the '8' in 1877 has virtually worn away completely.  The original Victorian red brick paved frontage is still in place.

Historic Context: Gowland’s 1892 Eastbourne Directory states ‘Seaside is a road running from the end of Seaside Road towards Pevensey.  It was originally known as Seaside, but has been renamed from time-to-time: Pevensey Road, Seaside Road, &c.  And now again is to be known as Seaside.  This accounts for the fact that some of the houses have three or four numbers on the door.’

Listed below for the same property on the corner of Seaside and Myrtle Road is Edward Pike, a baker.

Gowland’s Almanac Eastbourne Postal Directory 1884 gives the address at that time as 559 Pevensey Road, occupied by Pike, E., baker.

Gowland’s 1886 Directory states ‘Seaside, Allfrey Cottages, (No) 517, Pike, E., baker.

1871 census: Edward (18 years old) was living at home in The Goffs (No 5) and was employed as a milkman.  The household contained his parents, James, and Harriet, as well as 2 other brothers, and 3 sisters.

1881 census: the bakery address is given as ‘Pevensey Road, Allfrey Cottages, No 11’.  Edward is listed as a Master Baker employing 2 men.  He lives there with his wife, Ellen, 2-year-old son Horace, a niece, and his father-in-law (William Holter), who is described as a ‘journaman (sic) baker.’ 

1891 census: the bakery address is now given as ‘Seaside Road, (No) 517.  The household is listed as Edward (baker), Ellen, 12-year-old Horace, and 7-year-old daughter Lillian, as well as the father-in-law (baker).

1901 census: the address has changed to Seaside rather than Seaside Road, but is still numbered 517.  Edward and Ellen’s daughter, Lillian, now 17, is listed as ‘assistant in baker’s shop’.  They also have another daughter, Eva, aged 9, as well as the father-in-law, now aged 84 and listed as ‘Boarder.’

1911 census: address as per 1901.  Edward listed as ‘Baker & confectioner.’  Ellen as ‘assisting in the business.’  Lillian and Eva as ‘Shop assistant.’  William, the father-in-law, is no longer listed.

1921 census: Edward (age 68) and Ellen (age 66) are now living at 147 Latimer Road, and Edward is listed as ‘Shop Manager, A. Stapley, Millers, 32 South Street’ (the Find My Past website has incorrectly transcribed the name as ‘A. Staphy’).  The 1915 Kelly’s Sussex Directory states ‘Stapley Alfred & Co. millers (steam & wind), Mill Road; 32 South Street & 268 Seaside.’

From the above, and from OS maps, we can see that the Seaside bakery was built in 1877 and occupied in that year by Edward and his family.  The road (Seaside) was renamed several times and the bakery address and house number changed several times as a result.  Sometime between 1911 and 1921, Edward gave up the bakery to take the job in South Street.

Edward and Ellen’s only son: Horace Edward William Pike (incorrectly listed on the Find My Past transcribed 1891 census as ‘Horace G. W.’), is listed in the 1901 census as a ‘Journeyman baker’ at 149 Latimer Road with his wife Louisa Maud, and 2-year-old daughter Louisa Ellen.

1911 census: same address. Occupation now listed as ‘Market Gardener,’ and his wife as ‘Assisting in Business.’

In the 1915 Kelly’s directory he appears as ‘Pike Horace Edward William, shopkeeper, 149 Latimer Road.’  

It appears he died aged 39 in 1918, but I cannot find any details.  

Eastbourne Herald, March 17th, 1951: ‘Pike – on March 12th, 1951 at 7 Fitzmaurice Avenue, Eastbourne.  Maud, widow of Horace Pike.  No letters please.’

In addition, Edward’s older brother Frederick is listed in the 1881 census as ‘Dairyman’ living at Ferland Lodge, High Street (Old Town), Eastbourne, with his wife Mary, 3 daughters, 2 servants, and 2 lodgers.

In the 1915 Kelly’s directory he is listed as ‘Pike Frederick Ltd, Upperton Farm dairy, 2 The Goffs.’

References: -
OS maps various.  Gowland’s Eastbourne Directories.  Find My Past website.  Kelly’s Sussex Directory 1915.
Eastbourne Herald.

EHL223. Boundary Stones ‘C. B. & S.’ (Clement Brewer & Sons) c1930. Brewers main office and depot 123 - 127 Ashford Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: spun.judges.miles & expect.villa.echo


Two small white marble paving stones incised with the letters ‘C. B. & S.’ (Clement Brewer & Sons) in front of 123 - 127 Ashford Road, which is still Brewers main office and depot.

Historic Context: -
After returning from 3 years in Arizona running a goat farm with his business partner Arthur Pritchard, Clement Brewer (born 1861) started work at John Line’s wallpaper supply business in Reading in 1884.  Clement married Mary Pritchard (Arthur’s sister) in 1888.  After running the Aldgate branch of the business for a number of years, Clement was advised to move to the south coast for health reasons, and along with his wife Mary, and their six children moved to Bexhill in 1901 to join his former business partner Arthur Pritchard in his Venetian blind business.  The business struggled and within a year Clement went to Eastbourne to work as a clerk in a building firm called Glovers.  In 1904, with Mary’s financial backing, they started their own business selling mainly wallpaper at 64 Cavendish Place.  In 1910 the business moved to 28 Pevensey Road and later expanded into No 26.  Mary passed away in 1920.  In 1925 the firm became a private company, C. Brewer & Sons Ltd.  In 1928 the Eastbourne branch moved to Ashford Road.  Clement passed away in 1940 aged 80.  By 2004 the company had 115 branches in the UK.

Information from Kelly’s Directories as dated: -
1929: 123 Ashford Road, William Rogers, decorator.  125, William Bond (Pearl House).  127a Brewers C. & Sons Ltd.
1930: 123 Ashford Road, Brewers C. & Sons Ltd.  125, William Bond (Pearl House).  127a Brewers C. & Sons Ltd.
No 125 the middle property was not acquired until the early 1950’s, so it seems likely the two marble paving stones date from this period.

References: -
‘Brewers 1904 – 2004 The first hundred years of a family business’ by Christopher Brewer.
Kelly’s Directories as dated above.

EHL71. J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London. c1890. Location: Granville Road near the junction with Carlisle Road, Eastbourne. what3words: haven.turns.reap

J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London.   Condition: Good. Repainted by Bob Cookson. The Eastbourne Local History Society Newsletter No...