Monday, 14 October 2024
EHL71. J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London. c1890. Location: Granville Road near the junction with Carlisle Road, Eastbourne. what3words: haven.turns.reap
EHL79. Ham Baker & Co. c1890. Location: Grassington Road adjacent to the junction with Furness Road, Eastbourne. what3words: turns.gates.glory
Ham Baker & Co Engineers Westminster. Note: there is also a small 'inspection' cover in the pavement at the base of this post which is also marked 'Ham Baker & Co Westminster.'
Monday, 2 September 2024
Boundary Stone 'CHH' Charles Hugh Haine c1880. 19 South Street, Eastbourne. what3words location: backed.dirt.faced
White marble boundary stone.
Pictures and information from survey conducted 30/08/24 by Kim Adams.
CHH stands for Charles Hugh Haine who took over the company from his father, John Haine, who had founded it in 1838. As well as being a prominent local businessman, C H Haine was elected as one of Eastbourne's first Borough Councillors in 1883 and was also a leading Freemason. He ran the company from the 1880s into the early 20th century before handing over to his son, C S Haine. C H Haine died in 1916 aged 69.
Boundary Stone 'CHH' Charles Hugh Haine c1880. 19 South Street, Eastbourne. what3words location: deputy.plug.cross
White marble boundary stone.
Pictures and information from survey conducted 30/08/24 by Kim Adams.
CHH stands for Charles Hugh Haine who took over the company from his father, John Haine, who had founded it in 1838. As well as being a prominent local businessman, C H Haine was elected as one of Eastbourne's first Borough Councillors in 1883 and was also a leading Freemason. He ran the company from the 1880s into the early 20th century before handing over to his son, C S Haine. C H Haine died in 1916 aged 69.
Tuesday, 6 August 2024
Sunday, 4 August 2024
EHL210. GPO Wall Plate. c1933 to c1972. 33 Upperton Gardens, Eastbourne. what3words location: bumps.dated.update
GPO joint marker ‘No3’. Cast iron pavement plate marking the position of buried couplings,
and buried jointing chambers for telephone cables. Set into the pavement outside 33 Upperton Gardens adjacent to drainpipe pavement drain cover. Note the original Victorian red brick paving stones which Eastbourne is famous for.
EHL228. GPO Wall Plate. c1938-1972. 1 Arlington Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: forget.friend.yards
Side boundary wall of Arlington Road Surgery in Old Orchard Road.
EHL227. GPO Wall Plate. c1938-1972. 9 Old Orchard Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: skill.oven.market
GPO joint marker ‘No4’. Cast iron wall plate marking the position of buried couplings, and buried jointing chambers for telephone cables.
EHL226. GPO Wall Plate. c1938-1972. Farrington Court, 16 Old Orchard Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: pirate.stow.across
EHL225. GPO Wall Plate. c1938-1972. 14 Old Orchard Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: coffee.attend.blend
GPO joint marker ‘No4’. Cast iron wall plate marking the position of buried couplings, and buried jointing chambers for telephone cables.
EHL209. GPO Wall Plate. c1938-1972. 6 & 6a Ratton Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: normal.gates.rinse
Saturday, 3 August 2024
Ordnance Survey Benchmark. Prior to 1875. King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne. what3words location: cheek.took.ritual
Boundary wall of the Wish Tower opposite the Lansdowne Hotel near entrance to Western Lawns.
Thursday, 1 August 2024
EHL131. Eastbourne Electric Light Co Ltd. De Roos Road where it meets Ratton Road and Mill Road, opposite corner to VR Pillar Box, Eastbourne. what3words location: wins.tables.cubes
Grace’s Guide: Eastbourne Electric Light Co Ltd.
c.1883 Established the first system of district electric lighting in the UK using underground mains.
c.1883 The Lowrie-Hall system of electric lighting, using the Goulard-Gibbs transformer (otherwise spelled as Gaulard-Gibbs), was deployed by Hammond & Co (Electrical Engineers) for Eastbourne Electric Lighting Co; Mr William Lowrie was the chief engineer of Hammond and Co.
By 1889 mains of 20 miles length were in use.
From ‘Bygone Eastbourne’ by J. C. Wright published in 1912 the following chapter titled ‘The Pioneer of Electricity on the South Coast’ is reproduced in full: -
The inhabitant of old Eastbourne as he chatted in the chimney-corner during the dark days of winter and lit himself to bed by the aid of a farthing rushlight did not dream that posterity should possess a light which ‘without heat, without smoke, without smell, and shut up inside an empty bulb, should emit a beam with powers denied even to the solar ray.’ It is true these advantages were not secured all at once. The Electric Light Company was unable to avail itself of the incandescent system for some time. Founded in 1882, the company initiated an undertaking which has become of considerable importance to the town. Soon after its formation, it applied to the Local Board for permission to carry its wires ‘over streets or over roofs of houses or in gas-tubing under streets for the purpose of carrying the electric light into the shops and houses of such ratepayers as may desire to use it.’ The company also asked the local authority if it was willing to try the ‘Brush Arc Light’ of 2,000 candle-power in a few selected parts of town. Though there was some opposition, the request was grant by a majority of four and it was arranged that sixteen lamps should supersede ninety existing gas lamps.
It is amusing to read the discussions of the Board respecting the new light. It was stated the several companies were intending to compete with the original Eastbourne Company, that they would have the power to come and break up the roads, and could not be dislodged for twenty-one years. A few members thought ‘the more the merrier,’ but others of a more serious turn of mind regarded the outlook with feelings far removed from equanimity, and the Clerk was instructed to watch the question in the interests of the Board. The ‘watching’ was effectual; anyhow no rival company appeared on the scene. With youthful ardour the company urged that the Board should allow them to light one or two streets. But the Board, desiring above all things to appear fair, resolved to put the Gas Company on a similar footing. Accordingly the Electric Light Company was asked to give a price for lighting up the route from the drinking fountain near the railway station to the top of Victoria Place; and the Gas Company to give a price for lighting the road from the Anchor Hotel to Mr. Dicker’s shop in South Street. The Gas Company took offence, because, said one of the members, they had ‘had a nice thing for a long time, and did not want it taken away.’ So the company refused to give a price. But an agreement was entered into with the rival company to light fourteen arc lamps in Devonshire Place, Terminus Road, and Seaside Road. This arrangement was not carried out in its entirety, but Devonshire Place was actually lighted by the company for some time. The direct current was at first employed, but this gave place to the alternating current, and along with it the system of incandescent lighting, the first place to be lit by the company being the new Town Hall.
As the pioneers of electric lighting on the south coast the company had frequently to pay heavily for their experience, for essentially it was an experimental company in its early days, and but for the assistance of capitalists introduced by Mr. Robert Hammond, the well-known consulting electrical engineer, under whose superintendence the company’s system was originally laid down, the undertaking might have collapsed. After 1890 the company ‘turned a corner’ and began paying dividends, which in the year prior to its transference to the Corporation reached 10 per cent. Many of the principal boroughs, including that of Dublin, and several of the London vestries visited Eastbourne to inspect the company’s operations, and at the opening of the works in Junction Road in 1885 the Chinese Ambassador, the Marquess T’Seng, was present.
The original directors were Mr. George Boulton (chairman) and Messrs. J. G. Langham, Wm. Routledge, Caleb Diplock, and J. A. Skinner; and from the incorporation of the company Mr. Henry Towner acted as secretary and accountant. Latterly Mr. H. W. Wilkinson was the electrical engineer. Since the undertaking came into the hands of the Town Council, it has been found necessary to erect new works at Roselands.
EHL129. Eastbourne Electric Light Co Ltd. De Roos Road where it meets Ratton Road and Mill Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: flame.miss.rash
Grace’s Guide: Eastbourne Electric Light Co Ltd.
c.1883 Established the first system of district electric lighting in the UK using underground mains.
c.1883 The Lowrie-Hall system of electric lighting, using the Goulard-Gibbs transformer (otherwise spelled as Gaulard-Gibbs), was deployed by Hammond & Co (Electrical Engineers) for Eastbourne Electric Lighting Co; Mr William Lowrie was the chief engineer of Hammond and Co.
By 1889 mains of 20 miles length were in use.
From ‘Bygone Eastbourne’ by J. C. Wright published in 1912 the following chapter titled ‘The Pioneer of Electricity on the South Coast’ is reproduced in full: -
The inhabitant of old Eastbourne as he chatted in the chimney-corner during the dark days of winter and lit himself to bed by the aid of a farthing rushlight did not dream that posterity should possess a light which ‘without heat, without smoke, without smell, and shut up inside an empty bulb, should emit a beam with powers denied even to the solar ray.’ It is true these advantages were not secured all at once. The Electric Light Company was unable to avail itself of the incandescent system for some time. Founded in 1882, the company initiated an undertaking which has become of considerable importance to the town. Soon after its formation, it applied to the Local Board for permission to carry its wires ‘over streets or over roofs of houses or in gas-tubing under streets for the purpose of carrying the electric light into the shops and houses of such ratepayers as may desire to use it.’ The company also asked the local authority if it was willing to try the ‘Brush Arc Light’ of 2,000 candle-power in a few selected parts of town. Though there was some opposition, the request was grant by a majority of four and it was arranged that sixteen lamps should supersede ninety existing gas lamps.
It is amusing to read the discussions of the Board respecting the new light. It was stated the several companies were intending to compete with the original Eastbourne Company, that they would have the power to come and break up the roads, and could not be dislodged for twenty-one years. A few members thought ‘the more the merrier,’ but others of a more serious turn of mind regarded the outlook with feelings far removed from equanimity, and the Clerk was instructed to watch the question in the interests of the Board. The ‘watching’ was effectual; anyhow no rival company appeared on the scene. With youthful ardour the company urged that the Board should allow them to light one or two streets. But the Board, desiring above all things to appear fair, resolved to put the Gas Company on a similar footing. Accordingly the Electric Light Company was asked to give a price for lighting up the route from the drinking fountain near the railway station to the top of Victoria Place; and the Gas Company to give a price for lighting the road from the Anchor Hotel to Mr. Dicker’s shop in South Street. The Gas Company took offence, because, said one of the members, they had ‘had a nice thing for a long time, and did not want it taken away.’ So the company refused to give a price. But an agreement was entered into with the rival company to light fourteen arc lamps in Devonshire Place, Terminus Road, and Seaside Road. This arrangement was not carried out in its entirety, but Devonshire Place was actually lighted by the company for some time. The direct current was at first employed, but this gave place to the alternating current, and along with it the system of incandescent lighting, the first place to be lit by the company being the new Town Hall.
As the pioneers of electric lighting on the south coast the company had frequently to pay heavily for their experience, for essentially it was an experimental company in its early days, and but for the assistance of capitalists introduced by Mr. Robert Hammond, the well-known consulting electrical engineer, under whose superintendence the company’s system was originally laid down, the undertaking might have collapsed. After 1890 the company ‘turned a corner’ and began paying dividends, which in the year prior to its transference to the Corporation reached 10 per cent. Many of the principal boroughs, including that of Dublin, and several of the London vestries visited Eastbourne to inspect the company’s operations, and at the opening of the works in Junction Road in 1885 the Chinese Ambassador, the Marquess T’Seng, was present.
The original directors were Mr. George Boulton (chairman) and Messrs. J. G. Langham, Wm. Routledge, Caleb Diplock, and J. A. Skinner; and from the incorporation of the company Mr. Henry Towner acted as secretary and accountant. Latterly Mr. H. W. Wilkinson was the electrical engineer. Since the undertaking came into the hands of the Town Council, it has been found necessary to erect new works at Roselands.
EHL231. Eastbourne Electric Light Co Ltd. 2 Moatcroft Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: mostly.case.logs
EHL64. Eastbourne Water Works Air Valve Sign. Compton Place Road (No18), Eastbourne. what3words location: pull.teeth.goad
EHL153. Fire Hydrant sign. Lismore Road above the Cancer Research shop, Eastbourne. what3words location: rust.crazy.muddy
EHL154. Fire Hydrant sign. 4 Grove Road, Eastbourne. what3words location: debate.sculpture.fumes
EHL152. Fire Hydrant sign. St. Aubyn's Road at the junction with Seaside, Eastbourne. what3words location: debate.sculpture.fumes
My Comment: I would suggest that, in Eastbourne at least, the following applied: white background with blue H indicated hydrant directly below, whilst white background with red H indicated hydrant on other side of the road as this is where I found the actual hydrants in relation to the wall signs.
EHL229. Fire Plug cast iron wall plate. Location: 40 Bedford Grove, Eastbourne. what3words location: choice.events.tummy
Fire
Plug wall plate c1900. It has been
painted yellow and black as per the ‘modern’ colour scheme.
According to many online and written sources the term ‘Fire Plug’ comes from the age of early water mains in larger towns and cities, which were made of hollowed-out wooden tree trunks. These sources state that holes were cut (approximately 2” diameter) when water was required for fire-fighting purposes, and re-plugged afterwards, but it seems strange that fire-fighters would have the time to dig down to a mains pipe and cut a hole prior to tackling the fire itself. It seems more likely, as with London after the Great Fire of 1666, that Fire Plugs were pre-installed and ‘extended above ground.’ Whichever method was used, it is true to say that the term ‘Fire Plug’ was used extensively from the Victorian era onwards. As the ‘new’ cast iron pipes were laid, valves were placed at regular intervals and a metal plate marked ‘F.P.’ (Fire Plug) would then be fixed nearby to indicate an access point for future use in fighting fires. The ‘F.P.’ plates were later replaced with plates marked ‘H’ for Hydrant, although some of the original ‘F.P.’ plates can still be found, as in this example. The design of the ‘new’ plates varied considerably according to the local water companies supplying the water mains and there was no standardisation until 1938 onwards. The current signs take the form of a capital ‘H’ in black on a yellow background. The figure in the upper section is the diameter of the water mains pipe in either inches or millimetres, and the figure in the lower section is the distance from the sign (or plate) in feet or metres. From 1975 the old imperial signs were to be replaced by local government authorities at their own expense to the new metric versions, but there are still many of the old signs still to be found in Eastbourne, and due cost it is unlikely the remaining imperial ones will ever be changed.
EHL71. J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London. c1890. Location: Granville Road near the junction with Carlisle Road, Eastbourne. what3words: haven.turns.reap
J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London. Condition: Good. Repainted by Bob Cookson. The Eastbourne Local History Society Newsletter No...
-
J. Stone & Co Engineers Deptford London. Condition: Good. Repainted by Bob Cookson. The Eastbourne Local History Society Newsletter No...
-
Cast iron letter box with VR cypher. The Letter Box Study Group: Type B with weather strip & 7” aperture manufactured by Handyside is d...
-
Cast iron letter box with VR cypher. The Letter Box Study Group: Type B without weather strip & with 7” aperture manufactured by Handys...















